Mrs. Rodriguez's First Grade Class Blog

Rice Lake Elementary

Tuesday’s Events

on September 11, 2013

Here are some of the highlights from today:

We learned how to pick “good-fit” books for our book boxes by using “I PICK.” “I PICK” stands for:
I = I choose the book
P = Purpose: Why do I want to read it?
I = Interest: Does it interest me?
C = Comprehension: Do I understand it?
K = Know most of the words: Can I read most of the words

We learned that a good book is kind of like a good pair of shoes. You want books that are the right size and that you like, just like with shoes.

We also started to write in Writer’s Workshop! It was so exciting! We received our Writer’s Workshop Folders and we wrote ideas down of things we could write about. We will use this list to help us think of ideas for stories.
IMG_4153

IMG_4155

IMG_4156

I love this picture! It shows our first grade friends hard at work during Writer’s Workshop. I love that they are all sitting close to one another, but yet are all working so hard
IMG_4154

We had day 2 of math stations today. I have to admit that we are getting a bit more comfortable with each other, so our voice levels were a bit to loud today. We will go over and practice expectations again tomorrow! 🙂

Zander and Hailie shared their King and Queen “All-About Me” shields. They both did an excellent job!
IMG_4151

IMG_4152

Leave a Reply

